Gift Card Holder *Tutorial*

This is a quick and easy way to make some gift card holders for the upcoming holiday season. I wish I could say I created these instructions, but I was taught how to make these at a SU event a few months back. I have some really bad pictures to go along with my directions. Hopefully between the two you can figure it out – it’s really easy!!

First thing you want to do is cut your cardstock to 4.5 x 11 inches.


Next you want to score your cardstock at 3, 5.5 and 8 inches along the LONG side of the cardstock.

Next step you want to fold your paper in half, going from RIGHT to LEFT. (you’ll see why in a minute)

Next you want to fold your flap in half, going from LEFT to RIGHT.

Next you want to flip the paper over and do the same thing – this time fold your flap in half going from RIGHT to LEFT.

When you’re done it should be in the shape of a W, like this.

You then want to tape your W shut. Place your adhesive along the underside of the W and press the two sides together.

If you did it right, it should look like this.

Next you want to cut a slot in the middle of the gift card holder so you have a little slot to hold your gift card. This can be done using the Word Window Punch and a Circle Punch. If you don’t have the Word Window Punch you could also use a Square punch or even use your Square/Rectangle Nestabilities.

You want to cut just 1/4 inch or so from the top of the middle section. Be careful not to cut the edges or your gift card will fall out!

Next you want to clean up the middle where the two punches don’t quite meet by using your circle punch.

This is what your gift card holder will look like when you are done.

Decorate the gift card holder and you’re done! I hope you enjoyed this quick tutorial!

8 thoughts on “Gift Card Holder *Tutorial*

  1. Fantastic tutorial. I’ve always wanted to make one of these, but have been to lazy to figure it out. Thanks for taking the guess work out of it. Love the pengie too. WAY cute! :O)

    Like

  2. Can I just say that I LOVE LOVE LOVE how you wrote on the card stock! I am so not one of those people who can just read text and understand. Your pics are SO helpful! I would totally be able to do this and that’s saying a lot since I’m a bit challenged.

    Like

  3. I LOVE this tutorial! I just used it for my gift card holders! your directions are flawless and so eay to follow! thanks so much for this!!!

    Like

  4. fabulous tutorial, ryann! when i saw your adorable “cute shoes ahead” post on scs i had to stop by and see how you made it! tfs!
    abrazos,mirabella

    Like

Leave a Reply

